January's Featured Read is...


Enter an urban fantasy world where elves, vampires, weres, djinn, and others maintain a precarious balance of power in North Carolina. Welcome to Otherside.


Private investigator and sylph Arden Finch is determined to come out of the shadows and practice her forbidden magic. There's just one problem: the elves have a bounty on elementals like her.


When an elf hires Arden without realizing what she is, she seizes the chance to gain leverage in the dangerous world of Otherside⁠-even if it means risking exposure. But as the case grows more perilous, Arden draws the attention of the region's deadliest power players.



Fans of Kim Harrison, Faith Hunter, and the early Anita Blake series will find a kick-ass heroine to love in Arden.


Why did I choose this author and this book to bring in the new year?

An award winning title, Elemental is the first of five books in the best-selling Shadows of the Otherside series. With a beautiful cover that exudes stunning #blackgirlmagic and a great premise, why not? If book one is a winner, there are even more titles to devour.


Readers of urban fantasy may note that location is often as much of a personality as the characters, when it comes to the genre. Whitney Hill adds a personal touch and great attention to detail when it comes to the setting of her series. Set in her home state of North Carolina, Hill often talks about the various real life places that inspire her writing, places and landmarks you can visit and see for yourself. There's something about having a real life reference to compliment a good slice of fantasy fiction.


About the author:

Whitney Hill is the author of the Shadows of Otherside contemporary fantasy series. The bestselling first book in the series, Elemental, was the grand prize winner of the 8th Annual Writer's Digest Self-Published E-Book Awards.


Whitney is also the founder of Benu Media (benumedia.com), an indie publishing imprint and creative consulting business. She leverages over a decade of marketing experience to offer resources that help indie authors rise and shine.


When she’s not writing or consulting, Whitney enjoys hiking in North Carolina’s beautiful state parks and playing video games.


Join Whitney on Twitter and Instagram: @write_wherever and check out her work on her website https://www.whitneyhillwrites.com



My thoughts after reading Elemental:

Arden is my new favorite urban fantasy heroine and Hill is now on my list of favorite authors!

If you’re looking for a fierce urban fantasy with a dash of mystery and a nice helping of black girl magic, then you don’t want to sleep on this read. Fans of Kim Harrison and Laurel K. Hamilton looking for a fresh and diverse new series to devour are sure to enjoy The Otherside Tales. See my full review on Goodreads.




Have you read Elemental? Let me know your thoughts.








2 views0 comments